And the Fourth Leaf was Painted Gold, Ch. I

Standard

“And that’ll be $72.56 Hun.”

I tipped my hat to her, hadn’t been one to talk the last few years. As I left the store I gazed up at the high noon sun stopping for a moment to feel the handles of the plastic bags dig into my fingers. It brought onto me a certain sense of life.

The mountains had a distance haze to them and their peaks sliced the clouds like paddles in a surf. The tops broke down gradually into rolling hills which naturally flattened into the gazing prairie I was standing on. You couldn’t be more in the corn than Broken Creek Wyoming.

The horse ridin’ hog tyin’ life was never my top choice, hell it didn’t even crack the top hundred. Morocco, London, Paris, Malibu, New York, Rome, those were the dreams, those were the goals, those were places where I have lived.

I exhaled and placed the bags in my car, a candy apple red  and white walled 2014 McLaren Mp4-12C, no chance of that getting stolen out here. I wasn’t the product of a trust fund, good investment, high paying job, nah nah nah I was a much more random occurrence. I won $2.7 billion in the lottery.

“You know I’ve been looking everywhere for you.”

Oh Fuck, that voice. I looked up, it was Carl, the slash across his face had scared up nicely.

“How did you do it,” I asked.

“Found a way into your bank, saw where you had been spending money.”

“Still not one to give away your sources, huh?” I headed towards the driver door but he stopped me.

“You burn this house and I’ll just track you to your next one. I am part of the inner circle now, Chez, you can’t run anymore.”

“I know.”

“Where’d you send her?”

I leaned in, “the one place she’s always wanted to go.”

I could feel each knuckle as they hit my cheek. His fist came from nowhere but knew to where it was going. I fell back grabbing the car hood to stable myself.

“What?! You gonna fucking kill me Carl?! Well here’s your god damn chance!”

His knee did more damage. Straight up into my jaw. I could feel my body lift off the ground before landing with a thud. Carl stepped back screaming.

“I don’t want to have to kill you. I just wanted to know where the fuck you sent her! But if you keep fucking testing me then I’ll repaint the parking lot with your god damn grey matter!”

Carl pulled out a small pistol. Silver with engraving on the side no doubt where he stole it from. I didn’t think he was going to shoot me. With me dead he would have no way of obtaining the information he wanted. The gunshot rang out to the hills then echoed back. Carl fell to the ground clutching the side of his abdomen.

“Oh shit! Did I actually hit ’em? You alright Chez?” The cashier was calling out to me from the front door.

I sprung to my feet and grabbed the gun from the still in shock Carl.

“You fucking lost again,” I said.

He looked at my with eyes full of anger and fear. I kicked him several times in the head until he was unconscious. Each blow felt like I was trying to play soccer with a ball full of jelly. I tossed him in the back seat using an old blanket to keep the blood off the fabric. The cashier at this point had a disgusted look on her face. I didn’t mind though. Not the first time I’ve see it and it probably won’t be the last.

As I sped off I heard the carton of eggs fall to the floor.

8 thoughts on “And the Fourth Leaf was Painted Gold, Ch. I

Leave a Reply

