Update, One-Thousand Followers, The Future and Me

Standard

14183771_10205320329366804_3313931724564705318_n

So that’s me, Tye Files. A 20 year old college student lounging on his couch in his overpriced apartment. A lot of people have been wanting to know more about me (for some odd reason) so here’s a quick synopsis.

I grew up in a small town in Northern California. Always been creative but more importantly always been shy. So I’d keep my ideas and stories to my self. Little treasures for my personal enjoyment. Around December of last year one of my friends, Jacob Edwards, recommended I start a blog here in the little corner of the internet called WordPress. Thus Butterflies & Machineguns was born! Then promptly abandoned for 7 months. It wasn’t until July 2nd of this year that I started posting regularly and damn has the last 10 weeks been exciting.

Yesterday I hit 1,000 followers. That’s One-Thousand people, real people, who have chosen to follow my blog. Like holy shit. I don’t think I could name a thousand people!. That’s not the crazy part either. Based on current growth I will hit 1,100 tonight or tomorrow morning! Just holy shit. Thank you so much. I’m glad you’re enjoying my work.

So where and who am I now? Well I am still Tye Files. Gonna be 21 soon and about to start my fourth year of college as a Chemical Engineering major. Do I want to be an engineer my entire life? Honestly I don’t know. I love the major but I am having a lot of fun writing stories on here. Where am I going next?

….

Well…

The best advice I ever got was this:

“Don’t plan where you want to be in a year. Instead plan where you want to be in five years. Your goals will become a lot more obtainable.”

In 5 years I’ll be 25 and out of college. So where do I want to be? I have some ideas. I want to be doing this still. That is guaranteed. As long as there are people to read my writings I will keep writing things for you to read. However I don’t want to just do this. There are other things I want to do. I want to start podcasting like Philip DeFranco and making educational YouTube videos like VSauce. I want to stream my video games to people just like A_Seagull does and make web comics like Owl Turd comics and Cyanide and Happiness. I want to have more community involvement and share cool stuff I find.

So that’s what I am going to do.

Butterflies & Machineguns  for all my stories. This is why you come here. I will keep writing the stories I started, write more ‘160 words,’ some new stuff, some one offs and some posts by my co-author Jacob Edwards. I will also still be doing the pop culture analysis but am limiting them to once every month or so for two reasons. First they take so long to research and write. Second I much more enjoy flexing my imagery skills.

Twitch for all my game streams. I am playing a lot of Overwatch right now. By no means am I good. Honestly I am average but I talk and make jokes with other players. It’s a good time, check it out.

Tumblr for all the comics I write BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY a place where I will share all the cool stuff you send me. These can be your original stories, art works, poems, proses, photos, videos, podcasts, whatever. It doesn’t even have to be related to my blog. I want to see what you create. Everyone has creativity in them. So send your content to my email: ButterfliesandMachineguns@gmail.com

Soundcloud for all my podcasts. That’s right I am going to podcast. The first one will be up today or tomorrow and should be a weekly thing every Friday. This will be me talking about stuff in my life, cool things I’ve seen online, news, advice, media, etc.

Instagram for a daily funny picture. Everyday since March 13th of this year I have posted at least one funny picture/gif/video onto this profile.So if you want a daily dose of humor this is the place.

Facebook and Twitter for you to stay informed. Don’t want to miss a post, podcast, drawing, comic, stream? Then follow me on here.

Patreon for me to make ends meet. I want to keep doing the things you like. So if you can find it in your heart please pledge to me on patreon. Pledges start at just $2 a month.

Even if you don’t pledge to me on patreon all my content is still here for you to enjoy. The next best thing you can do is to follow me at all the above links, to share things you read, to like things you share and to comment.

You are all amazing people. See you at 10,000.

Never stop creating,

-Tye Files

21 thoughts on “Update, One-Thousand Followers, The Future and Me

  1. It is an odd feeling to realize people on all continents but Antarctica follow your blog, and that what seems of limited interest, perhaps, actually has a following.

    Congratulations! Check your statistics and you will be amazed at how many countries are represented in your following.

    As recently as April, I had 750 or so followers, and something happened in that short time between then and now to bring me up to one or two people short of 1000 followers of my blog. I look forward to joining you at 1000, soon!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Wow! I hit 100 and that’s a lot for me! But 1,000? I don’t think I could keep up with the other posts by followers and all the comments…it already takes up so much time!
    I congratulate you: 20, on your way in school, writing a popular blog. Amd you’re very handsome.
    So here’s to you, and I will add you on my Tumblr! Here’s hoping for your 10,000! 🍾

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hi, Tye!

    Before anything else, congratulations on hitting 1,000 followers! Just by reading the amount of passion you put into your posts, I’m sure that it’s very well-deserved.

    I think it’s insane that we have a number of things in common. First off, I’m also twenty years old. I turned twenty last month, and like you, I’m pursuing a degree in chemical engineering. I’m also in my fourth year. Oh and I consider myself to be a really shy person as well. It’s so great to come across someone who’s quite similar to me.

    Anyway. Wow, you definitely have a lot of goals and plans for yourself. I wish you all the best with them!

    P.S. In one of my earlier blog posts, I mentioned my intention of visiting every blog that follows me and leaving a little comment love as a small expression of my gratitude. Having said that, I personally want to thank you for being a part of my readership. You are incredibly wonderful, and your support means more to me than you realize! 😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cbeadedesigns

    You’re doing okay for a shy guy! I just started this summer and you are my #10 follower! I feel like I should give you a prize, or maybe write something special:

    I once new a boy from Nantucket,
    and, aw bucket,
    I can’t compose this sort of clucket.
    Maybe some prose the next time I visit.

    Thanks for being my 10th.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, that’s a great following you’ve built up – congratulations! Therefore I’m going to assume you are incredibly busy and so thank you for finding the time to show an interest and following my blogging adventures around the US!
    I always get a bit giddy when I see people from places like Indonesia, France or Brazil checking out my writing – I have no clue who they are but it’s awesome 🙂
    Best of luck reaching your dreams – whatever they may be!

    Like

Leave a Reply

